Board of Trustees

Our team consists of some of the very best educators, professionals, directors, choreographers, designers, stage managers and theatre technicians from around the world.

Academy President & Chairman

His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan Bin Muhammad Al Qasimi

His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan Bin Muhammad Al Qasimi is a Member of the Supreme Council of the United Arab Emirates, Ruler of the Emirate of Sharjah, President and Chairman of Sharjah Performing Arts Academy (SPAA).

His Highness is the 18th Ruler of the emirate of Sharjah and is at the forefront of the emirate’s cultural, economic and social development. His Highness established University City in 1997, asserting Sharjah as a forward-thinking emirate of education excellence, open to inviting cultural interaction and dialogue, intellectual exchange, curiosity and academic experiences in many fields of study.

His Highness is a lifelong scholar who holds a Bachelor of Agricultural from the College of Agriculture, Cairo University (Egyp​t) and two Doctoral degrees, the first in History from Exeter University (UK), and the second in Political Geography of the Gulf from Durham University (UK).

His Highness also holds 20 honorary Doctorates from renowned higher education institutions and universities around the world. Further information about His Highness can be found by going directly to his personal website.


A message from our Executive Director
Professor Peter Barlow FRSA

Executive Director

Hoor bint Sultan Al Qasimi

President and Director of Sharjah Art Foundation (SAF) and Deputy Chairperson of SPAA

Dr Yousif Aydabi

Cultural Advisor to His Highness, Dr Sultan Al Qasimi Centre of Gulf Studies

Mr Ismail Abdallah

Chairman of the Board of Trustees of Arab Theatre Institute; Secretary General of Arab Theatre Institute; Chairman of Theatrical Association

Mr Ahmed Aburehaima

Director General of Theatre Department; Department of Culture, Sharjah

Dr Nadia M. Alhasani

Professor and Dean – College of Fine Arts and Design, University of Sharjah

Dr Habib G. Al-Attar

Secretary General of the Theatrical Association